Archive for February 7th, 2010

07
Feb
10

bicycle weekend recap…

as the hangovers blind our eyes this sunday morning, we have to remember how we came to this state…it was the bike.

it was the bike that took me to critical mass and then marble brewery thereafter, the same bike that dumped me in the street after last call. that same bike that drug me to the westside and made me push it 1200′ in the air over 12+ miles and then the 9 miles home. well, i don’t like that bike anymore. so i called my other bike…my kind, gentle road bike. she[it] took me to the poker ride, calmly waited while i drank a beer at the cinema velo party @ the fixed and free with some friends, then silently coasted me home to the comforting warmth of my floor furnace.

critical mass was great. big winter turnout…30+

matching grills, big houses on them hills race was challenging and rewarding. much thanks to erin for the pasta salad w/strawberries, and santa fe brewery for the post ride keg. and of course big thanks to isaac (race non-organizer), and also dakota for use of his prosthetic leg since lucas and jacob couldn’t find a cup to drink from. results? jason in 1st, ganwell paul 2nd, graham 3rd. the two girl team catrika(?) took 1st and 2nd girls, elle was 3rd.

cinema velo…big turnout, good times, empty keg. the next movie nights will be on the 1st and 3rd sundays every month.

poker ride. big thanks to apd for not labelling me a loiterer while waiting at hidden park for the start of the ride. we stopped @ cinema velo/fixed and free, morningside park, bullhead memorial park and ended after midnight at jerry cline park. joe from rei was the big winner with a flush. he’ll be in charge next time.

now the bad news…

due to the commercial-whorebowl, there will not be any bike polo this afternoon. back to it on tuesday though.

